My Laptop Setup

My Laptop Setup

ยท

2 min read

A combination of popular and niche tools that I find useful or cool.

Devices:

  • Laptop: M1 MacBook Air, base model.

  • Phone: Google Pixel 7.

List of tools:

Programming/ Development:


Convenience (all tools are added as a login item. Most of them reside in the menu bar):

  • Monitor Control: So I can control both screens' brightness directly through the menubar.

  • One Thing: Just to display any one-line thing in the menu bar. I mostly use it to keep track of any upcoming deadline or a "note-to-self".

  • Maccy: A fast & simple clipboard manager. Probably the most useful tool I use.

  • itsycal: Replacement for the default date-time. Shows a small month-view on click. Looks pretty cool too. Change the default clock to analog to avoid duplicates.

  • Rectangle: Window manager with customizable shortcuts.


Misc:

  • Solid Explorer (Phone): File manager w/ FTP server functionality. I use a command line FTP client for macOS (brew install tnftp) for file transfer between my laptop and phone, because it is fast and easy to set up.

Some random thoughts ๐Ÿ’ฌ:

  • Check the compute total size or whatever option it's called in the finder settings to see folder sizes.

  • Turn off natural scrolling. I occasionally use a mouse w/ my laptop, but macOS still does not have the functionality to change scroll behavior automatically depending on the device being used. Personally, natural scrolling turned off just feels better.

  • Spotlight is my favorite way to open apps and files. Alfred is even more powerful but Spotlight is sufficient for my use.

  • I am experimenting with neovim-based editors (like AstroNvim) as a VSCode replacement just for fun. While the Vim keybindings are great and something about terminal-based GUIs feels nice haha, it will take quite a lot of practice to get used to it.

  • Why is the Outlook app on macOS so much cleaner than its Windows counterpart? The Windows version is just painful to look at and use.

End of this post.

ย